RSS Feed

Ebony and Ivory

I think most of us have seen the half moon cookies. They are usually a cakey cookie with vanilla and chocolate icing. Well as I have mentioned earlier my favorite cookies are chocolate chip cookies. I got the idea to make make half moon chocolate chip cookies. This is one of my proudest baking moments. They are amazing! I used dark chocolate chips but you could use milk chocolate. For the chocolate half of the cookie I used mini chocolate chips. This was super easy and it’s really nice to have two cookies in one.

I followed a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe on the back of the Nestle chocolate chip bag. When it came to adding the flour is when I diverted. I mixed in 1.5 cups of flour into the batter then I moved some of the batter to a smaller bowl then added approximately 1/3 cup of baking cocoa into the bowl. Honestly I didn’t measure because it was after 11pm at night and anything goes. I then proceeded to add about 1/2 cup more of regular flour to the first bowl then added a bit more to the cocoa batter. I taste tested frequently to ensure good mixing. I finally added the chips then viola!

I closely dropped about a teaspoon of each type of batter next to each other and baked at 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Enjoy the pictures!

These cookies are kind of like the best in show. Oh the symmetry.

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

