RSS Feed

Gobble Gobble

Well Thanksgiving is not my favorite holiday. I’m not a fan of pie crust, stuffing, mashed potatoes, rolls, cranberry sauce, turkey skin…So I guess you could say I like turkey, corn, squash, and pie filling. For some reason I feel unAmerican by stating this but I just feel like there are better foods to eat. I digress. So to get in the Thanksgiving spirit I made some peanut butter cookies with a white chocolate peanutbutter glaze. The glaze took this cookie from I will never make this again to…I’d make this again and bake the cookies for less time.

The recipe I used is linked below. I did make some modifications.I decided to use a little less sugar and added some applesauce to replace the 1/4 cup of extra butter.

http://www.hersheys.com/recipes/5366/REESE%27S-Chewy-Chocolate-Cookies.aspx

These modifications may have been my downfall.  I guess I will try making the recipe as stated or just find a better chocolate cookie recipe. My glaze though was super easy and made these cookies delicious.

GLAZE

  • white chocolate candy melts
  • peanut butter
  • food coloring

Melt the candy melts in a microwave safe bowl. Stir in peanut butter to taste. I added about 1/4 cup of peanut butter to almost a cup of un-melted candy melts. Then mix in food coloring for any colors you desire. I just did orange and red because I wanted semi-realistic turkey cookies. In another mood I made have gone with blue and white turkeys.

Me eating a cookie before the glaze.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Me eating the cookie with the glaze.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clearly, you can see the glaze is worth it. So now more pictures!

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

2 responses »

  1. Haha…pie crust 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

