RSS Feed

Spice Up Your Life!

“People of the world spice up your life ahhhhhhh….slam to the left if you’re having a good time” I’m sorry if anyone sings that song for the remainder of the day. It was just too perfect for the obscene use of pumpkin spice and cinnamon in this recipe. I have a love affair with pumpkins which doesn’t end after October 31st. Thanksgiving is another excuse to add more pumpkin to my life. I recently saw a recipe for pumpkin bread with a cream cheese filling. I’m thinking that’s a delicious possibility but what if I added some apples to that. Now it’s three favorite Thanksgiving day desserts in one:apple pie, pumpkin pie, and cheesecake. This is the finished product.

 

Recipe

Dry Ingredients :

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

I almost never actually mix the dry ingredients by their lonesome but I wanted this recipe to be done right. So behold flour and some friends.

“Moist” Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cup

Cream Cheese filling:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Apple filling:

  • 3 small apple peeled and diced
  • 1/8-1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. Make Apple filling
  3. Make cream cheese filling
  4. Mix dry Ingredients
  5. Cream sugars and pumpkin
  6. Add oil, vanilla, and eggs
  7. stir in part of the dry mixture
  8. stir in some of the buttermilk
  9. repeat this until all ingredients are added

 

Assemble the bread!!!

Spray a pan with cooking spray then lightly flour the pan. Now to add the delicious-ness.

  • pour in pumpkin mixture 1/3 up the pan
  • sprinkle in apples
  • drop cream cheese (if your gifted then you can spread the cream cheese)
  • sprinkle more apples

Top it off with more pumpkin mixture. I also had left over so made a small test batch. For science of course, not so I had my own private stash.

Good thing I have time to go to the gym. I ate this whole “test” batch in the course of a day. Damn you pumpkin spice, for being so delicious.

I can almost see a face in this bread. An evil face to be more exact. It’s smug.

 

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

