RSS Feed

Turkey, potatoes, and pie… Oh my!

By an act of God no doubt, my mom surrendered the cooking of the Thanksgiving meal to my sister. This is our deep-fat-fried bird which was accompanied by dishes of collard greens , macaroni and cheese , stuffing, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, roasted potatoes, rice and beans, artichokes, and nasty cranberry sauce. But of course, it isn’t Thanksgiving without football and pies. I made two pies this year. A double decker pumpkin pie and a cherry pie with streusel topping. The pumpkin pie is a family staple as of a few years ago thanks to an ex-girlfriend of my oldest brother. It became legendary because the whole pie was gone that day. So now I make it and only a third of the pie remains because us old people like to restrain ourselves. The cherry pie I made per request of my mother; She had this yen for it.

So the pumpkin pie is simple especially if you like to take shortcuts. Here is the link to the pumpkin pie recipe http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/double-layer-pumpkin-pie-54636.aspx.  Now to show you how easy it was.

Mixing the pumpkin filling: I omitted the second box of pudding. The pie will taste the same. It must be a ploy by Kraft to make you purchase more of their products.

 

 

 

Spread cream cheese filling in graham cracker crust.

 

 

 

 

Spread pumpkin filling over cream cheese filling.

 

 

I embellished the cool whip topping with some pumpkin pie spice. It looks like heaven and tastes like it too.

Exhibit A

Exhibit B: too bad I had to share

So the cherry pie was lame in my opinion but the topping is really good and I want to try it for a muffin recipe. Here is the recipe I used. I would suggest reducing the flour down to 1 cup. The streusel overtook the pie in a sense.

1/3 cup of walnuts or pecans, chopped fine
1-1/2 cup of flour, sifted
1/2 cup of brown sugar, firmly packed
1/2 cup of butter (1 stick), fresh from the refrigerator

streusel with pecans

meet cherries and pie crust

now you’re introduced.

baked to perfection

Ya a bit too crumbly but not bad.

 

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

