RSS Feed

Step Into Christmas

My good friend Sara and I share a love of baking. It seems like we’re always sharing recipes. We decided to combine our baking prowess to make a care package for a soldier Sara knows stationed overseas. It doesn’t feel like enough in comparison for all he and his fellow servicemen do but it was something we could do to say “thank you.”

To get in the holiday mindset, Sara had a Christmas playlist  to enhance the atmosphere. “Step into Christmas”  was one of the great gems that played. Also, who doesn’t love Wham’s: “Last Christmas I gave you my heart and the very next day you give it away…” I decided I need to listen to this music a bit more but instead I’m listening to Matt Kearney at the moment. ( Another thanks to Sara for this music suggestion)

It was also a bit of an adventure mailing this package before the post office closed. We mailed the package at 2pm. The post office closed at 2pm. Let’s just say we’re that good.The picture below shows my packing skills. Thank you engineering education for teaching me how to optimize limited space. I hope those crackers don’t become crumbs but time will tell. There are candy, granola bars, homemade cookies, crackers, floss, toothbrushes, cleaning cloths, crackers, and a handwritten note that reside in this box. I hope this brings some happiness.

These are the two cookies we sent the soldiers.

Cracker-licious Cookies

  • enough saltine crackers to cover a 9×13 in pan (we used mini crackers to be resourceful)
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • bag of chocolate chips
  • 1 cup walnuts,chopped

Step 1) Layer pan with crackers

Step 2) Melt butter in saucepan and stir in sugar.

Step 3) pour onto crackers and spread evenly

Step 4)Warm in the  350 degree Fahrenheit oven for 6 minutes

Step 5) Sprinkle on chips or chocolate chunks then spread over crackers. If needed, place back in oven.

Step 6) Sprinkle on Walnuts

Step 7) cut into squares

WARNING! these are highly addictive. You may want to make them only if most of them will not be staying in your house.

Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies

A basic chocolate chip cookie recipe except additionally one package of vanilla instant pudding.  We decided to do the pudding recipe to make the cookies more moist since they have a long journey ahead of them.

Baked to perfection.

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

