RSS Feed

December Week 1

Well here we are, the pinnacle of baking season. Now is the time to let out all the stops. I have started out rather ambitious so far. I’ve made three minty goods and an awesome biscotti. Some of this is thanks to Emily who found the cutest santa inspired cupcakes. So this is what was made. Cue drum roll.

Mint Rolled Sugar Cookies

I used a variation of these lemon cookies for my this recipe. I of course omitted the lemon and switched it with a tsp of mint and about a tsp of vanilla. I may try peppermint the next go around. I also rolled the dough in powdered sugar before baking in hopes of making it look like a chocolate crinkle cookie.  I forgot that wouldn’t happen for this type of cookie so I added some red sprinkles instead and all was good.

Pure Doughy Goodness

Mint M&M Festive Chocolate Chip Cookies

For these I used my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe from Nestle but switched things up with red food coloring and the mint M&Ms. I think the large size of the M&Ms may have altered the recipe a bit but the cookies still came out great especially with my white chocolate drizzle.

Walking in a Winter Wonderland

 

Peppermint Santa Cupcakes

Emily and I made these this past weekend. Instead of having just white cake we dyed some of the batter red and added peppermint extract to the batter. These came out so adorable and basically look just like the picture.

 

HO HO HO

Cinnamon Chip Gingerbread Biscotti

I had a strong desire to use cinnamon baking chips and Emily likes biscotti and knows some people who would also appreciate biscotti so we made these as well. You can see the evolution from spicy batter to shaped logs to baked logs to cut cookies. It was a lengthy process. In fact I think the recipe was a little excessive in some of the directions but nonetheless, the cookies still came out good. I think next time I will use my own recipe.

 

 

 

So I look forward to posting a lot more this month. I still have to make breakfast pizza, cinnamon rolls, chocolate cheesecake bread…

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

