RSS Feed

Have a Holly Jolly Christmas

Happy Holidays from upstate New York! For reasons unbeknownst to me it still hasn’t “really” snowed here but I’m not complaining. We can have a green Christmas, New Year’s, Martin Luther King Day, President’s Day, Easter….ALL YEAR. YEAHHH BUDDY.Ok enough of this. I probably just jinxed myself.

So this year to make things a little different I tried a chocolate rolled sugar cookie in addition to the classic vanilla. The dough for that was amazing but I wish the baked cookie was a little more chocolate-y. I even made my own homemade frosting for these cookies. I’m not sure what possessed me to do that but I was still ambitious and full of pep at 4pm on a Sunday afternoon. It might have been from the latte I had with Sara at 1pm. So these are the recipes I used. There was no way I was going to try and wing these recipes so I used ones that seem respected by the baking community.

VANILLA

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/the-best-rolled-sugar-cookies/

CHOCOLATE

http://glorioustreats.blogspot.com/2011/01/chocolate-rolled-cookies-recipe.html

 

Now for the interesting part of this blog…the pictures

The doughs: I rolled them out in confectionery sugar and cocoa respectively

 

My pre-baked creations

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Many minutes later…

In the meantime, makin’ some frosting

Well I my brother doesn’t believe in traditional colors so this is the craziness I ended up with..

I then sit down to about 6 different types of sprinkles, glitter gel, and M&Ms to make some magic.

I love snowmen so I got very creative with them.

I don’t know what I was thinking when I frosted these ones.

Sometimes I even personalize cookies.

Also, my brother’s house is fully decorated for the holiday season. This is just a glimpse of how much Christmas cheer I was sitting in.

Duke really wanted a cookie.

My brother also got in on the baking and made some Italian cookies.

So have a good holiday although this wish may be premature since I will most likely be baking up until Dec 25th.

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

