RSS Feed

Oreo Lovin’ had me a blast

I couldn’t for the life of me decide what to make for Christmas Eve.  I could have done carrot cake, a series of cake balls, a yule log, etc. After much rumination, I concocted Red Velvet Oreo Cake! This cake would combine all that was delicious and allow me to try my hand at cake balls. I do admit this isn’t a simple cake to make but I did most of it the morning before Christmas Eve when my body decided it wanted to get up at 6am. So this is what you need to make this cake.

Supplies:

  • red velvet cake mix
  • chocolate cake mix
  • 2/3 cup oil
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 2 cans of cream cheese frosting
  • ~lb dark chocolate wafers
  • ~lb white chocolate wafers
  • decorative sprinkles
  • 1 package of Oreo cookies
  • Oreo pudding mix
  • Oreo to-go-pack
  • 1/3 package of cream cheese
  • 1 cup milk
  • glass  cake dish (optional but classy)

So I chopped up half a row of Oreos.

Then I mixed the Oreos into the chocolate cake mix.

Other than this substitution I baked the cakes as stated by the boxes. I made sure to remove the cakes as soon as they bounced back when poked. This ensured the cakes were moist. I even received compliments about how moist and awesome my cakes were.

The cakes cooled and I used one 8 inch pan of each to make a set of cake balls.

RED VELVET Cake Balls

The cake ball recipe was easy. I mixed half a can of the frosting with each type of cake. Then I rolled these by hand and basically had red dye all over me. I was caught red handed (oh such a bad pun). Then I put the cake balls into the freezer so they could be dipped in the melted chocolate and not leave little cake remnants .

COOKIES & CREAM Cake balls

Filling

I came across this pudding on a spur of the moment trip to Wegmans. I happened to stroll down the baking aisle and I came across this box. I figured it was better than the cream cheese filling I had intended so I purchased it and this is the filling I made:

Mix 1 package of oreo pudding, add one cup of milk ( I used 1%), about 6 crushed oreos, 1/3 package of cream cheese.

Assembly:

  • Take out classy glass cake stand
  • Put the chocolate cake layer on the bottom
  • Spread pudding layer (I used all of it)
  • set the red velvet layer on top
  • frost the cake with a can of the cream cheese frosting
  • I then decorated the cake with crushed oreos, red sprinkles, and mini Oreos
Let’s look at the cake again.

 

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

