RSS Feed

Blended Baking

So I awake this morning without the blare of my alarm (still got up before 9am grrr) to see a freshly sprinkled snow.  Rochester has been without snow for all of December and  now here it is.  I suppose it was hubris to think that Rochester wasn’t going to have a winter.It kind of looks nice but it wasn’t that nice to walk with laundry. There were a few dangerous moments in rainboots, balancing an overflowing laundry basket, and pulling out my student ID.

I thought to myself …Self, you should bake while this laundry is getting done. I perused my baking supplies and found half a bag of toffee bits and two frozen bananas. I was going to go all out and make some banana bread and the random recipe on the back of the toffee bits. I also riffled a bit more through the supplies and found soy flour and whole wheat flour left over from a class project.

As I mentioned before I used the recipe on the back of the Heath toffee bits bag. Except  here, I will link you to the  recipe I actually ended up using. The Heath-bag recipe asked me for cream of tarter. Uhhhh I don’t have that because no recipes ever need it. I said screw it and relied on the 1 tsp of baking soda for proper leavening. All was well. Another modification I made was to add 1 cup of soy flour in place of the all purpose flour. At first when I tasted the dough before I added the toffee bits, I tasted an awkward plant taste. However it quickly dissipated once I added the  toffee bits.

Here you can see what the dough looked like, a finished batch of toffee cookies, and one of the cafeteria cookies I made. To me insanely large cookies are cafeteria cookies since generally all cafeteria’s at schools serve oversized cookies.

 

 

 

 

Banana Bread

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 cup applesauce
  • 4 TBS butter
  • 2 bananas

I baked this at 350 degrees Fahrenheit and made sure to flour coat the pan before baking. Honestly, I didn’t do anything fancy but put all of this in a bowl and stir. I don’t claim to cream the sugar or any of that nonsense. I did substitute 1 cup of regular flour for wheat flour. This is what the bread looked like after baking for an hour. After it cooled on its side I made a cinnamon glaze and warmed up a little bit of cream cheese icing to drizzle over the bread.

 

 

 

 

These are the flours I used for my substitutions.

 

 

About ccignarale

I'm a short, quirky Industrial Engineering graduate student that loves to bake. I've done my fair share of boxed desserts and am now ready for a baking adventure. So, I hope that there are some doughy bits of goodness in my future.

Leave a Reply

